Wing Dreams

When I quit eating poultry I never knew 

I’d have dreams about hot wings. 

The spice left in my gullet when I woke,

Nose stuffy, mind still at the county fair,

Feeling both disgusting, and primal. 

We all have this idea of civility,

A moral compass that screams

“Thou shalt not kill!” 

But I taste the wings,

I know that I save 518 gallons

Of water per pound of chicken,

So why does my mind still desire

This tearing of flesh? 

Why only wings?

Humanity is not entirely civilized-

It is foolish of us to believe 

We can rescue our minds…

Yet, I saved 518 gallons of water today. 

2 thoughts on “Wing Dreams”

Leave a Reply

